This project is read-only.

2015 Steering Committee Elections: Vote Open

Topics: Announcements
Nov 4, 2015 at 5:41 PM
Many thanks to Brett Morrison and Jorge Agraz who are valued contributors and supporters of Orchard for accepting to be our assessors and for counting the votes.

You can find what each candidate had to say in this thread:

Who can vote?

Can vote anyone who, between November 3rd at 12:00PM Pacific Time and November 17rd at 12:00PM Pacific Time has done any of the following contributions:
  • published a message on the discussions forum (spam doesn't count)
  • published a message on the room (spam doesn't count)
  • published or commented an issue
  • published or commented a pull-request
  • published some documentation
  • attended the Harvest conference

How to vote

Each person has five votes to cast on five candidates of his choice. You cannot cast more than one vote on a single candidate. You do not have to spend all of your votes.

Voting is private only. To submit your vote, copy/paste the section below into an email to

Your CodePlex or Github username must be supplied as part of your voting submission. Shortly after the election is closed, the totals and the individual votes will be published anonymously, with a unique GUID, allowing you to verify your vote as correctly accounted for.

Put an X by each candidate you select. Ballots with more than 5 votes will be rejected and sent back to you by the voting commissioner. Upon proper qualification and submission, the voting commissioner will send you back a unique GUID that you can use to verify your vote after the election.

CodePlex Id: [ ]
Github Id: [ ]

Candidates (denote up to 5 candidates with an 'X'):

[ ] Antoine Griffard (
[ ] Benedek Farkas (
[ ] Bertrand Le Roy (
[ ] Piotr Szmyd (
[ ] Sebastien Ros (
[ ] Sipke Schoorstra (
[ ] Zoltán Lehóczky (
Nov 10, 2015 at 7:59 PM
Commissioner's mid-election report:

13 qualified voters submitted their selections.
Nov 18, 2015 at 4:54 PM
The election has ended, and the results have been tabulated. The breakdown detail is here:

Jorge audited the election and verified the results.

We have a TIE for the final spot! What to do?

Congratulations to all the candidates:

Sipke Schoorstra (26)
Sébastien Ros (25)
Bertrand LeRoy (22)
Zoltán Lehóczky (16)
Benedek Farkas (12)
Piotr Szmyd (12)
Antoine Griffard (7)
Nov 18, 2015 at 4:58 PM
The results have been verified. We indeed have a tie.

Nov 18, 2015 at 5:00 PM
Edited Nov 18, 2015 at 5:19 PM
Thanks to all who voted, and congratulations to all candidates!

My first reaction would be to have 6 members this year. If there's a tie in a vote, the Dictator can break it.
Nov 18, 2015 at 5:06 PM
Edited Nov 18, 2015 at 5:13 PM
Also, I'm worried about the low turnout. Less people voted than we have each week on the call, and only four times the number of candidates. This is a problem for many reasons: it could be disinterest in the project's governance, a failure on our part to properly advertise the election, an opaque process, or who knows what else? I think we should analyze this and try to understand. It's important because it undermines the legitimacy of the committee.

One thing we could do next year is build a little online app to submit votes and see if it improves things. Another is to poll (I know, ironic) project users to ask them why they did or didn't vote.
Nov 18, 2015 at 5:10 PM
No objections from my end to have 6 members.

I share the concern regarding the low turnout. Would a poll help to ask people directly what they think of the project and why they did or did not vote?
Nov 18, 2015 at 6:23 PM
One thing that could explain the small number of votes, compared to the other years, is that no mail has been sent to the people registered to the mailing list (even if I don't know how much people it represents).
The only way to know there was an election was to check the discussions forum, follow OrchardCMS on Twitter or attend the weekly meeting.
Nov 18, 2015 at 6:37 PM
Edited Nov 18, 2015 at 6:38 PM
Wow, a tie for a first time:) Congrats everyone!

Yes, this low turnout is disturbing. Maybe we should send some automated e-mails (or Codeplex/Github PMs) to everyone who is eligible to vote, next time? IEEE and ACM for instance do this when voting time comes. People rarely visit forums without actually looking for something, same for project website, Twitter hashtag et al. I don't know if we have a way to aggregate all eligible voters though...
Nov 20, 2015 at 12:50 PM
Edited Nov 20, 2015 at 12:58 PM
Congrats! My opinion is that if we extend the Steering Committee to 6 members, it's just a small step to extend to 7 (first as a test for a year and then we'll see if it makes sense to keep it 7 or go back to 5 - also: odd number may be better for votes), since Antoine is also a core member and important contributor.

Edit: if there was another candidate on the 8th place, I wouldn't suggest this, but I think it makes sense in this situation.