Can a module install a theme?

Topics: Writing modules, Writing themes
Aug 2, 2015 at 7:04 AM
Can I write a module, that brings/installs a theme? Or are modules and themes to be considered "separate"?
Aug 3, 2015 at 8:37 AM
A module is considered to be an independent part of functionality. A module should never depent on a theme.
The other way around is possible though, a theme can depent on a module.

Is your module's functionality dependant on the theme? Or do you just want to provide links to install themes through your module?
Aug 4, 2015 at 6:19 AM
Thank you for your anwser.

I am new to Orchard and its overall architecture. I have a customer that wants a CMS with its own, individual design, and also some individual business functionality/content types.

My first thought was to pack everything into a new Orchard module, including the theme. But now I see that this is wrong.

So, if I understand you correctly, I will finally have to deliver 2 components seperately, the module and a theme.
Aug 4, 2015 at 8:00 AM
Edited Aug 4, 2015 at 8:01 AM
In theory a theme can also be made from within a module, but following orchard's (best) practices you would indeed need a module for the functionality and a theme for the looks and feels.
Another reason why it would be a bad idea is that a theme always gets precedence over a module. So if you override views in your modules (for the theming), then the enabled theme can override it again and use its own views. Also, if you decide to use another theme, you can just switch between the themes without touching the module.

The way to go is to create a module with the functionality and 'ordinary' views (as basic as possible), and create a theme to customize those views (and other views probably).
Developer
Aug 5, 2015 at 10:47 AM
Edited Aug 5, 2015 at 10:50 AM