Question about external data and modules

Topics: Customizing Orchard
Jun 19, 2015 at 10:47 AM

I'm completely new to Orchard and I have been reading the documentation and following some of the code examples on the Orchard site.

However, I'm a little confused how I can use a module within the CMS and display it as part of page/layout/content type?

If I explain a little more. I have followed the "Building a hello world module" tutorial and this all works very well. I have then adapted it slightly to consume a WCF service and display that data on the page instead of the "Hello World" that is in the tutorial.

This is all good and works fine.

But, when I then go to the admin pages, whilst I can see the module and enable it, I can't see how I can use this module to put it in a page.

I'm assuming I need to create a ContentType/Part/Record and this can then handle the data, but I don't want to write the WCF data to the Orchard db, which is what it appears to be doing.

Is there something I'm missing or is there a way that I can use this module more effectively within the CMS?

Jun 20, 2015 at 9:57 AM
Modules themselves are not things you can put on a page, they simply provide all sorts of useful things such as content parts, filters, services, commands, etc.
So your assumption is correct: to put something on a page, you typically build your own content part that can then be attached to a content type (such as Page or maybe even a new widget type).

When implementing a content part, you are completely in control where you're getting your data from. Orchard doesn't read or write data from a part - this is all up to you, and data access is completely optional.

In your case, all you would do is create your content part class and derive it from ContentPart (not contentPart<TRecord>).