Orchard 1.9 Layout Elements

Topics: Customizing Orchard, Writing modules
May 9, 2015 at 10:31 PM
I am really in love with the new layout control in 1.9. Also, the idea of Element-First coding I think is a good idea. I can see the majority of my work being involved with creating new elements. I have been looking over the Layout module, however because I am new to Orchard it is bit difficult to understand what it involved with creating new base elements. Are there is any examples of how to create/add new base elements from a separate module?
Developer
May 9, 2015 at 11:30 PM
Edited May 9, 2015 at 11:33 PM
Very pleased to hear, thank you!
I will write a post on writing custom elements, but until then perhaps the following guidelines will help you get started.

Creating your own element requires the following steps at a minimum:
  1. Create a class that derives from Element.
  2. Create an element driver class.
  3. To control the markup of your element, create a view called Elements.MyElement.cshtml (or Elements/MyElement.cshtml). Optionally provide an alternate for the Design display type to customize the way the element is rendered in design mode.
There's much more to say about the possibilities of what you can do as an element author, but until that's documented somewhere you can look at the existing element drivers that closest resemble your type of element.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask.
May 13, 2015 at 4:23 PM
I've done all of the above but my new element still isn't appearing within the layout of a page.

I'm trying to make a customised Grid component which will have extra markup to enable a carousel but still behave like a normal grid. Each row will then end up being an item within the carousel.
 public class CarouselElement : Element {
        public const int GridSize = 12;

public override string Category {
            get { return "Layout"; }
        }

public override LocalizedString DisplayText {