Orchard CMS 1.8.1

Topics: Administration, Customizing Orchard, Installing Orchard, Troubleshooting
Dec 18, 2014 at 7:53 PM
Hi all

First off I am not a developer so please don't go into compile this and that. I installed Orchard 1.8.1 for Web and I am having a few problems, when you look at the module list it says in red orchard.rules is missing, so I did some digging and you have to copy 3 dll's I did that but it still says its missing.

basically all I want to do is run a video clip on the site, I have tried installing various modules and none of them seem to work, can someone point me where I can download a module or widget that will allow me just to run a video.
Dec 23, 2014 at 1:45 AM
Edited Dec 23, 2014 at 2:52 PM
Not the case with the full source code. So, with WebMatrix, I have tried with the Web package, and indeed there is this info "orchard.rules is missing"

Go to the modules folder (where there are all modules), indeed there is no Orchard.Rules subfolder. In fact, this module is deprecated, so nevermind. But there is another module, Orchard.Scripting that is still present and depends on Orchard.Rules. You can see this dependency in the Orchard.Scripting/Module.txt file

I think this doesn't matter, because Orchard.Scripting is disabled by default, so, do not use this module or others downloaded modules that depend on Orchard.Rules... If you don't want to see the red message, you could delete the Orchard.Scripting folder, and, before restart, delete the App_Data/cache.dat file (otherwise the program will fail)

But, there are a few others modules that depend on Orchard.Scripting, so the real issue is the missing Orchard.Rules folder and / or remaining dependencies on this deprecated module. So, I think you can play with the package as it was downloaded