Dear Orchard Developer Team

Topics: General
Aug 29, 2014 at 10:40 PM
I've been using Orchard for 2 years, but my patience is starting to run low, very low. Despite the constant progress and all the efforts put into creating new features over the years...

I STILL CAN'T UNINSTALL A MODULE WITH JUST ONE CLICK.

I've been waiting patiently, having faith that it'll eventually come around. But now 2 years later, I've taken a look at the roadmap to 1.9, searched the forums, and googled the future of Orchard 2.0. I see no indication that this is ever going to change.

Guys seriously, do you even care? This is a serious usability issue. Not just for myself, but for the people I make websites for. For all the focus you guys put into making the next ingenious modules, I find it crazy you can't even make the same effort in getting the basics down like uninstalling a module or automatic site upgrades. That in comparison should be a piece of cake for you guys. While you guys are working on all these advanced features, you're ignoring the minimum basics of usability. Even far less advanced cms like WordPress can get that job DONE, why can't Orchard?

I don't even test any modules from the gallery anymore because I know it's going to be a pain in the ass to manually uninstall and undo table records when I'm done. No, I stay far away from the gallery. Not to mention there's no clear distinction to show which modules were from the gallery and which came preinstalled, more reason to stay away from the gallery.