Crazy plan - is there a way to render a "page (shape?)" and insert it into the output of the currently executing page?

Topics: General
Aug 21, 2014 at 10:38 PM
Hi Guys,

Okay so I'm very new to Orchard but I have a depressingly long (ie: I'm getting old) experience with .net.

Yes my plan might be crazy, but here me out. I'm trying to create what I'm hoping will be a pretty unique (design and layout wise at least) website with Orchard. Effectively it is a sort of Single Page Application approach driven by javascript. The premise I'm trying to create is a visually impressive site, but that can still be driven by a content management system.

As a point of reference, a similar design I'm aiming for comes from this demo

Working with that demo as a reference - not the finished idea but demonstrates the point - you have navigation driven as a set of simple pieces of content, a full screen image and some title information.

I can/have created a custom content type with fields for the image and title. All good so far. Now if I wanted to stick exactly to that demo, I could include an HTML field (for the content below each screen) and I'm done, but that's a little boring. I want to be able to include all sorts of content in the 'sub-page' (the content below each screen). In Orchard, if I could create a content type with Zones, I could add more widgets and other items to these zones and that's be the solution. I see from the feature roadmap that 'zones in pages' is coming, but October is too long for me to wait. I also saw the Science Project and Mechanics features which apparently lets you link content items, which seems that it would be at least part of the way, but the project appears to be dead.