Create photo albums with photo descriptions.

Topics: Customizing Orchard, Writing modules
May 25, 2014 at 6:53 AM
Edited May 27, 2014 at 9:34 PM
I am just starting to learn Orchard and am very impressed. I hope that somebody could help point me in the right direction.

I would like to create a content type that list pictures and then for each picture a block of text. In other words a photo album where each photo has its own description or instructions. I want users to be able to add an as many picture and text combination pairs as they want to create a single content item. The important part is that I want pictures and descriptions to be paired together but also contained within one content item.

Is something like this possible or would I need to do some coding? If I need to code something is there anything that I could use as a starting point that might be similar.
May 26, 2014 at 8:53 AM
You could create a custom type and attach the Body part and Image field.
May 27, 2014 at 10:08 PM

Sorry I don’t see how to get it too work.

A body part does let me add a block of text that can contain more than one image but I still don’t see how I can have multiple image and image description pairs. The text block or body is too open ended for my purposes. I want users to add a picture and then describe that picture by entering text into a field. The list of added Images and Image descriptions would form the content. Eventually the content could be formatted so that the images and descriptions would be in a table style format so that column a would be an image and column b would be an image description. You might want to think of it has a product catalog with images except that products in a catalog are all independent of each other. In my case I want to have the article (content type) always include all image and image descriptions that the user added to begin with.