Help needed in creating a multi-lingual country list and displaying it in a dropdown list

Topics: General, Localization, Writing modules
Dec 4, 2013 at 8:56 PM
Edited Dec 6, 2013 at 3:23 PM
I am new to Orchard CMS, and the time I have to learn it is very limited due to the time constraints of the project I'm working on.

I am facing the following problem and I'm hoping somebody can help me find a solution. I've searched for complete examples on this forum and elsewhere but found none.

I am trying to create a list of localizable list of countries in the CMS admin, and render these countries in a drop down list in a custom view within the custom module I have created. My module is activated as a feature in the cms, but beyond that, my module does not communicate with the cms's objects. In short, it consists of a form that read/writes data to an external sql custom database, this form data is NOT to be seen or saved in the CMS.

I simply want to pull a list of countries (localizable) which would be managed through the CMS admin, and display these countries in a drop down list on my form.

Here is what I've tried so far without success:
  1. I've created a new Taxonomy called "Countries", and added a few countries as terms under that Taxonomy. I then installed the Contrib.Taxonomy module, hoping that I could access those taxonomy terms programmatically within my module/view using the TaxonomyService class (more precisely by using the GetTaxonomyByName and GetTerms Methods). But I don't know what parameter values I need to pass to TaxonomyService class constructor in order to use these methods. Having searched the documentation in vain to learn how to instanciate and use the TaxonomyService class within my custom module, I've dropped this approach.