Topics: Customizing Orchard, Writing modules, Writing themes
Aug 4, 2013 at 4:59 PM
Are there any visual or video tutorials on Orchard CMS that take a HTML/CSS layout into Orchard? Orchard websites like or is what I am interest in doing. I have read the docs too, but seeing it done once or twice would help me to grasp the concept better.
Aug 4, 2013 at 9:19 PM
Understanding theming in Orchard is key here. Check out the post below and the blank theme that Richard created (you can download from the gallery). Once you have the basic concepts for theming down you can either extend an existing theme or start one from scratch. I find the default ThemeMachine to be a bit overwhelming for a newcomer, but it does demonstrate all the built in capabilities of Orchard theming.
Aug 5, 2013 at 1:55 AM
Edited Aug 5, 2013 at 3:12 AM
There should be more PSD to HTML To Orchard CMS videos.
Aug 5, 2013 at 2:16 AM
You should make one.
Aug 5, 2013 at 3:25 AM
Well I am new to Orchard Mr. LeRoy, and have to learn it. It would be good to have a video to reflect on, when questions go outside of the documentation.

Wow your the Top Level Orchard Coordinator and that is the best help you can give a newbie? I feel deluded for even coming here for a question.
Aug 5, 2013 at 4:35 AM
Edited Aug 5, 2013 at 4:36 AM
We all agree that it would be good to have such videos, but unfortunately we don't have that one yet (as far as I know).
Bertrand's suggestion is actually quite good: while you teach others, you teach yourself. It may take a little longer to learn the basics without seeing it first, but we're here to help if you have any questions. As a tip: look at existing themes to see how things are done. You'll find stuff in there that you probably have no idea what it's for, but that's where this forum kicks in.
Aug 5, 2013 at 7:43 AM