Custom action in Rules module

Topics: Customizing Orchard, Writing modules
May 30, 2013 at 10:33 AM
Hello
I'm new to Orchard and been trying to figure out this, for a couple of days.

I have a custom form build with CustomForm module. On that custom form I've set up a rule that sends an email when it's submitted. I would like to add automatically generated pdf to this email. For pdf creation i would use one of available open source libraries.

I want to know witch interface do i have to implement so that my custom action will be shown in "add an action" part of Rules module. I was looking at the Messaging module and couldn't find anything useful.

I was thinking of creating custom module that would add this custom action to rules and generate pdf and send an email manually. Is this even the right way to accomplish this kind of work flow.

Regards, Primož
Developer
May 30, 2013 at 10:41 AM
To create your own action, you need to implement Orchard.Rules.Services.IActionProvider (or, as some people do, create that interface in your own module if you don't want to add a reference to Orchard.Rules).
Developer
May 30, 2013 at 10:42 AM
What may be interesting to know is that 1.7 will have a Workflow module, where you could for example create an activity that generates a PDF, and another activity that sends an email, taking input from the previous activity as an attachment.
May 30, 2013 at 2:22 PM
So i added a new Class to Rules folder in my module.
namespace PDF.Rules
{
    public interface IActionProvider : IEventHandler
    {
        void Describe(dynamic describe);
    }
    public class PDFAction : IActionProvider
    {
        private IMessageManager _messageManager;
        private IOrchardServices _orchardServices;
        private IMembershipService _membershipService;
        public PDFAction(
            IMessageManager messageManager,
            IOrchardServices orchardServices,
            IMembershipService membershipService) {