Displaying a projection with custom layout on various pages

Topics: Customizing Orchard
Mar 26, 2013 at 9:41 AM
As this is my first attempt within this area of functionality this is a question regarding the approach I have taken, rather than a problem trying to get it to work.

Requirement is to utilise the jQuery UI accordion widget to display a list of downloadable press releases (basically a link, title and some meta data) on a page below some descriptive text.

Have created a Content Type for the press release then used a Query with a custom layout deriving from IFormProvider & ILayoutProvider as mention in Skywalker's groovy article Orchard Webshop module part 5. The custom layout provides the markup and wiring for the accordion.

This all works fine so far, however, I am now uncertain with my approach taken for rendering on the page.

The current requirement is to display the accordion below an area of body text. To remedy this I have used a layer and projection widget. The layer rule targets the particular page the accordion should be displayed upon (I like the description stating the concept of layers is the 'when' something should be drawn).
Since this initial work I have used this projection on another page by adding an or statement to the original layer rule.

Has anyone done anything similar, or can you spot any howlers with this solution?

I did attempt to construct a content type based upon an amalgamation of the Page and Projection Page content types. This appeared to require more shape placement adjustment, so I stopped.

Comments, thoughts, criticisms, recommendations please.
Coordinator
Mar 26, 2013 at 6:47 PM
Edited Mar 26, 2013 at 6:48 PM
There is a much simpler solution, use this module: http://gallery.orchardproject.net/List/Modules/Orchard.Module.Contrib.ProjectionLayouts
It add two new types of layouts that will do exactly what you want.

First keep you Press Release content type.