MVC4 Modules

Topics: Writing modules
Mar 4, 2013 at 7:50 AM
Hi

I am completely new to Orchard, and am following through a number of older tutorials on creating modules. I've used the command line to create an empty module in an Orchard 1.6 implementation.

Where I'm confused is that web.config in the root of the module, and the one in the Views folder specifically target MVC3 and Razor 1 and I thought Orchard 1.6 was supposed to implement MVC4 and Razor 2.

I've read through the code of a number of modules in the Modules folder and they all seem to be the same MVC3/Razor1.

I'm guessing this is just a case of the command line tools not having caught up with the new stuff. Can anybody point me at a defacto set of web.configs for an MVC4/Razor2 module?

Thanks
Coordinator
Mar 4, 2013 at 9:16 AM
You don't need the local configs to point to MVC4/Razor2: the main web.config is redirecting all those to the correct versions. This enables old modules that were built against older versions to compile fine with both old and new versions of Orchard...
Mar 4, 2013 at 1:10 PM
OK - thanks. Sounds clever :-)

The reason I started this investigation is because I'm getting the following error:
ASP.NET runtime error: [A]System.Web.WebPages.Razor.Configuration.HostSection cannot be cast to [B]System.Web.WebPages.Razor.Configuration.HostSection. Type A originates from 'System.Web.WebPages.Razor, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35' in the context 'Default' at location 'C:\Windows\Microsoft.Net\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System.Web.WebPages.Razor\v4.0_1.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35\System.Web.WebPages.Razor.dll'. Type B originates from 'System.Web.WebPages.Razor, Version=2.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=31bf3856ad364e35' in the context 'Default' at location 'C:\Windows\Microsoft.Net\assembly\GAC_MSIL\System.Web.WebPages.Razor\v4.0_2.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35\System.Web.WebPages.Razor.dll'. 
This made me think that it was a version conflict
Mar 4, 2013 at 1:16 PM