Design Recommendations Needed for Custom Login control

Topics: Customizing Orchard, Writing modules
Feb 27, 2013 at 6:18 PM
Edited Feb 27, 2013 at 6:24 PM
Hi Everyone,

I am learning Orchard in order to determine if it will meet our needs. I have taken the fundamentals and advanced PluralSight training for Orchard, and I am pretty impressed. However, I am having difficulty wrapping my head around some of the concepts.

I have read a lot of different articles about creating a custom module, but I haven't seen much about content types that do not need to be persisted in the database. I am struggling to understand how I can create a logon widget to be used in my layout.

I have a lot of development experience so I can usually put the pieces together on my own, so I am not looking for someone to give me the code. I am trying to understand the best way to implement this functionality, and I'm sure the community has done this.

Could someone please provide a list of the steps that should be taken in order to create a module that will serve up a login view and allow me to capture the login event and handle validation?

I have done this:
1) Used the codegen feature to create a new module

2) Used the codegen feature to create a new controller, added a Login action method and referenced the view model I want to use.
using System.Web.Mvc;
using Orchard.Localization;
using Orchard;

namespace MyCompany.Authentication.Controllers
{
    public class AuthenticationController : Controller
    {
        public IOrchardServices Services { get; set; }
        public LoginViewModel viewModel { get; set; }

public AuthenticationController(IOrchardServices services)
        {
            Services = services;
            T = NullLocalizer.Instance;
        }

public ActionResult Login()
        {
            return View();
        }

public Localizer T { get; set; }
    }
}
3) Created a ViewModels folder and added a single view model class with UserName and Password fields.