Absolute URL for all href and src on a page

Topics: Customizing Orchard, Writing modules
Feb 8, 2013 at 7:56 AM
I'm new to Orchard and MVC although I've been programming on c# for a few years. I'm attempting to create a Realtor website that uses a third party MLS connection. For some of their objects I need to provide a "master page" so my website theme can be displayed on their page. For this to work, none of the URL's on the page can be relative they must be absolute.

I started by trying to find each link and append the domain name to it. This quickly failed when I attempted to do so on the layout.cshtml for the style sheet where it ended up referencing <domain>/style.css instead of <domain>/entire_rest_of_theme_path/style.css. I assumed there has to be a way to intercept each all of the links just before rendering the html and making this change so I went hunting for it.

I found one example that says I should write an html helper to accomplish this. I found information on an interface for IWorkContextAccessor that should give me the HttpContext allowing me to gain access to all of the links I assume. However I'm a little clueless as to how to actually accomplish this and what files I'd need to change.

I've read an entire orchard book and numerous online tutorials. I'd love to take a crack at making this a module that when added to a page it shows all the links as absolute. Any nudge in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. I am a newbie so I do appreciate detail.
Feb 10, 2013 at 5:47 AM
Feb 12, 2013 at 6:25 PM