Adding Menu Items using INavigationFilter

Topics: Writing modules
Jan 10, 2013 at 7:35 AM
Edited Jan 10, 2013 at 7:52 AM

Good Morning,

I am just getting up to speed with orchard. After creating a HelloWorld Module I wanted to add a link to the menu pointing to my page.

However, all the examples I have found are not using  INavigationFilter but the INavaigationProvider . I understand that from 1.6 INavigationFilter is to be used for front end navigation menus.

Does anybody have a few lines of code demonstrating this?

Jan 10, 2013 at 8:59 AM

Have a look at NavigationQueryProvider in Orchard.Projections.Navigation. It shows off how one may dynamically generate menu items, in this case, from a Query.

Jan 10, 2013 at 9:43 AM

I have looked over the code , but It seems a little complex. I am afraid that I am very new to Orchard .

I was hoping for a AddMenuItem("Hello World" , "/HelloWorld") kinda solution. Does one exist ?

Jan 10, 2013 at 11:02 AM

If you implemented your own controller and action to which you want to point from a menu item, you may be interested in the Contrib.Navigation module:

It adds a new menu item type, allowing the user to specify an action, controller and (tokenized) routevalues.
The best way to learn how the navigation API works is by keep looking at existing code, implementing your own classes (perhaps copied from other modules) and poke around and see what happens.

Essentially, all you have to do to see something work is implement INavigationFilter and return an IEnumerable of MenuItems. In your case, you could simply yield return a new MenuItem instance from the Filter method along with the rest of the items, something like this:

using System.Collections.Generic;
using Orchard;
using Orchard.UI.Navigation;

namespace HelloWorld.Navigation {
    public class NavigationProvider : Component, INavigationFilter {
        public IEnumerable<MenuItem> Filter(IEnumerable<MenuItem> items) {

// Yield the current menu items