Place content in zones using Placement.info

Topics: Writing modules
Nov 28, 2012 at 3:34 PM
Edited Nov 28, 2012 at 3:35 PM

Hello,

I'm new to Orchard and I would like to thank everyone in the community for this REALLY powerful application. I'm writing you beacuse i'm having rough times while understanding shapes placement in zones. I've read a lot of threads talking about this but I still don't know how to achieve what i need (if it is possible of course)

What I want to do is quite simple. I have written a module which consists of a widget that fetch data from a WebService and display it in a grid. It works perfectly. Now, I need to display static text in the AsideFirst zone (TheThemeMachine).

I have a template named Hello.cshtml in my /view folder in my project wich looks like that:

<h2>Hello</h2>

As you can see there is nothing much in this, just static text. What i need to do is to push that template into AsideFirst zone (using placement.info) when the admin Enable my module.

I don't know if i'm clear enough, just tell me if you need more explanations,
Thanks in advance

Pat

Nov 28, 2012 at 3:49 PM
altraspat wrote:

Hello,

I'm new to Orchard and I would like to thank everyone in the community for this REALLY powerful application. I'm writing you beacuse i'm having rough times while understanding shapes placement in zones. I've read a lot of threads talking about this but I still don't know how to achieve what i need (if it is possible of course)

What I want to do is quite simple. I have written a module which consists of a widget that fetch data from a WebService and display it in a grid. It works perfectly. Now, I need to display static text in the AsideFirst zone (TheThemeMachine).

I have a template named Hello.cshtml in my /view folder in my project wich looks like that:

<h2>Hello</h2>