Using Out of the box Orchard OR creating new Module

Topics: Customizing Orchard
Oct 25, 2012 at 10:38 PM

I am developing a portfolio site where users will be able to showcase their own work as portfolio items and other users will be able to rate it. My requirements might be very basic ones which Orchard might be able to achieve out of the box, but I'm new to Orchard, hence asking these question....

I have 2 requirements...

1). On their personal page, Users will be able to create new Portfolio item and will be able to edit them.  Items will be listed in Summary mode and users will be able to click the title and go to the detail, (same as in Blog Posts summary and detail). Items here are filtered based on logged in user.

2) On home page, all the Portfolio items will be listed, with option for user to sort the items by latest date, User Views and Rating. This display also will be in summary mode but would be different look and feed than in point 1.

I wanted to know whether I should user Orchard out of the box functionality or create a module to achieve this. In other words...

a)... From Orchard out of the box standpoint, I create a Portfolio content type (almost every Content Part I need is available at this point), create a custom form and post it on the site. Also, for display, I use Projection and Query and for User page, I use user filter in query layout and for home page, don't use any filter and sort as needed. Theoretically, this seems to work but being new, I have several challenges in making this work. I'll ask those questions once someone endorses that this is right or wrong way to go. One issue briefly I'm facing is to display projection in Summary mode with 2 different look and feel.