Keep menu active when sub-menu selected

Topics: Core
Oct 25, 2012 at 10:28 AM

Hi,

I'm quite new to Orchard so please excuse me if I didn't find the response to that question. I've searched but didn't find something about it.

Here is my problem. I would like to keep a menu active for a group of pages. For exemple, if I create a query link named News that displays the list of news, I would like to have the News menu active when a news is displayed, not only active when the list is displayed.

But this could also apply to contenu menu items. For example the main menu is Products. It points to the first product. A submenu on the layer shows Product 1, Product 2, etc... I would like to keep the main menu Products active for all product pages.

I thought about using routes but didn't find how I can keep menu Products active for all paths that starts with /Products/*? Or is there a better way to achieve this?

Thanks in advance for the help

Oct 25, 2012 at 12:40 PM
Edited Oct 25, 2012 at 12:40 PM

As a complement, here is the solution I tried to implement unsuccessfully. My idea was to use the path. So I've added a field named MatchRoute to MenuPart. This field let me enter the path that should be matched to set the menu as active.

I've then overriden MenuItem.cshtml in my template to check if path match the given value and add the class accordingly. Unfortunately, I have not found how to access that field. I have not found a working example: some tutorials explain that I should be able to access the field with Model.Content.ContentItem.MenuPart.FieldName.Value. Unfortunately, I get an exception stating that ContentItem does not exist. Although I see the value in shape tracing tool. How can I access a custom field defined in MenuPart from MenuItem.cshtml view?

Coordinator
Oct 26, 2012 at 2:28 AM