Site intermittently not working when published

Topics: Troubleshooting
Oct 22, 2012 at 9:26 PM

Hi All,

I'm new to Orchard, I have setup a site using WebMatrix and when running locally on IIS express it works without a problem. 

I then puplished my site with 123-reg and I am seeing all sorts of intermittent errors which dont make much sense to me Errors like:

base article 810886. Hosting on a UNC share is not supported for the 
Windows XP Platform.

I asked 123-reg and they just fobbed me off with talk to your web-developer (whic in my case is just me!)

I can dig out the log files if required.

Thanks in advance

Oct 22, 2012 at 10:05 PM

Please try with dynamic compilation off. If you use 1.6 rc the build process does it by default now.

i.e., rename config/Sample.HostComponents.config to config/HostComponents.config.

Oct 22, 2012 at 10:23 PM

Wait, they are running a hosting business on Windows XP??

Oct 23, 2012 at 5:53 AM

Thanks for the suggestion, sorry but I am completly new what does this do? I tried it and just get an unhandled exception:

The type 'Orchard.Environment.Configuration.AzureBlobTenantManager' could not be found. It may require assembly qualification, e.g. "MyType, MyAssembly".

bertandleroy, no they arent running it on XP hence my confusion over the error thrown up!

Oct 23, 2012 at 6:00 AM

Did you compile for Azure and deploy to another hosting company?

Oct 23, 2012 at 7:02 AM

Sorry, probably being dumb but I dont think so.. I followed the above instructions on renaming the above config file and recieved the error in my next post.

I dont know much about orchard (although that is probably obvious! ;) ) I built a site in webmatrix (fairly basic, a couple of changes to the theme using a child theme and a few modules from the gallery).  When I run this via webmatrix it is all fine.  So I published (I have tried using the built in publish and straight FTP) and it doesnt work throwing various errors, working one minute and not the next.