Creating an Own Module only with foreign Moduls...

Topics: Writing modules
Oct 9, 2012 at 1:09 PM
Edited Oct 17, 2012 at 7:07 AM

Hi, I'm new at Orchard, get some Basics but not the total understanding ;)

I guess i just need a hint for the Moment to come forward.

Actually i try to bring Moduls programmatically together (without building a new contenttype manually over the admin/dashboard/contenttype [create new content]) e.g. User, PhoneNumbers, PersonalInformation.

I do not need a new table. Just want to go to the Dashboard and on the AdminMenu (i already done this) have a Link MyOwnUser wich displays User, PhoneNumbers, PersonalInformation

My Question: What minimum files do i need? Modules.txt, Migrations,cs

public int Create() {
        ContentDefinitionManager.AlterTypeDefinition("UserManagement", cfg => cfg
       .WithPart ("PersonalInformationPart")
        .WithPart ("PhoneNumerPart")
      return 1;

How must the View look? Is it possible to display the Foreign-View in my Own Module View?

I not want to extend the UserPart (like in PhoneNumbers)

I read Skywalker, PhoneNumber - but how to Build the Minimum Source for merge different Modules in a new View?

Oct 15, 2012 at 8:02 AM

Maybe my Question is not clear, and I guess the Answer is the '', am i right?

Oct 15, 2012 at 3:34 PM

Not very clear, no, I'm sorry to say. Placement will definitely help reordering the parts to the order you want, but if you elaborate a little on what you are trying to achieve, we can probably help a little more.

Oct 16, 2012 at 10:27 AM
Edited Oct 16, 2012 at 10:28 AM

If you're trying to replicate what the admin screen does when creating content types, the minimum files you'll need are:

- Modules.txt to define the module and make orchard aware of it

- Migrations.cs to create the types and assign parts to it, etc.

- to position the parts in your content types.

And that should be it really,

Oct 16, 2012 at 2:14 PM

Maybe my problem is to easy ;), dont know.