Customizing search results using @Display

Topics: Writing themes
Sep 5, 2012 at 1:29 PM
Edited Sep 5, 2012 at 1:31 PM

Hi, i'm using the search module and I'm trying to customize the search results. I know I can change templates for the individual parts and control content and order using the

I need some control over, for instance, adding 2 parts (say title and publication date) to a containing div. Can't figure out how to do this!

Using @Display(Model.searchResult) prints everything defined in placement info. I know I can remove this call and do the rendering myself. I'm fine with that, but is it possible to do something like this

I want to use the templates I already have, but control the containing HTML.

Hope my question is clear and thanx in advance!

ps: I can't really find good documentation on the display method. Neither on the 'wrapper' concept, which might have something to do with this (yes, i'm new to Orchard ;-)

Sep 12, 2012 at 10:06 PM

Display is for rendering shapes, not content parts. You should read this:

Sep 13, 2012 at 7:04 AM
Edited Sep 13, 2012 at 7:05 AM

Hi bertrand, 

I found that post and indeed use the shapehelper to do this, although it feels a bit 'hacky'. Also there are limitations like differentiating between two image fields (which you can do with placement). I understand it needs shapes, In Orchard-learning-curve-days, the post above is ancient ;-)

However, in your blog you present this as a alternative to placement info, but as far as I can tell there is no way to do this with placement.

<div id="justifyparts">
<div class="content">body</div>

The key issue here is displaying the author and title in the same containing div. I understand alternates, theming and all that stuff to render the individual parts, but this I can't get done with placement.