Blog Ownership / Send email rule

Topics: Administration, Customizing Orchard
Aug 15, 2012 at 6:12 PM
Edited Aug 15, 2012 at 9:46 PM

Hi,

I'm new to Orchard. I'm using v1.5.1.

My site has three blogs within it each owned by a different user; although I believe I created the blogs as webmaster (admin) and then changed the ownership later on the blog properties page.

I'm trying to create a rule so that when a comment is submitted against a particular blog post an email is sent to the owner (author) of the blog. I'm trying to do this using a rule and the Send e-mail action.

So on the Rules page in the Dashboard I've created a rule with an Event of when content with type comment is created and an Action of send an email.

On the Edit Action - Send e-mail page, when I choose the Owner "Send to" option no email is sent. If I specify an the address in "Other" instead it works ok. So I know it is not the email settings or the address, it seems Orchard isn't getting the blog owner's email address correctly.

So my question is, how do I find the email address of the owner of the blog the comment is being written for, and how can I make this available to the Send-email rule?

Any help or pointers from the more experienced Orchard world would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Glyn.

UPDATE:

Having poked about in the database I know I can get the information I'm after using a query like this (probably not the best way, but I am only tinkering/exploring)

select c.Author as [Comment Author], c.CommentText as [The Comment], d.Title as [Blog Title], a.Username as [Blog Author], a.Email as [Author Email]   
from Orchard_Users_UserPartRecord a, Common_CommonPartRecord b, Orchard_Comments_CommentPartRecord c, Title_TitlePartRecord d 
where (c.ID = 81 AND c.CommentedOn = 78AND (
d.ContentItemRecord_id = c.CommentedOn AND
c.CommentedOnContainer = b.id AND 
b.OwnerID = a.id )