Shape/template naming conventions?

Topics: General
Aug 8, 2012 at 3:11 PM
Edited Aug 8, 2012 at 7:58 PM

I'm new to Orchard and maybe I'm being stupid, but I've read through the documentation on Accessing and Rendering Shapes and I cannot figure out how to name shapes and templates.  They provide rules to create the shape name from the template name, but how do you come up with the template name?

1. When do I use a directory?  Is it optional?
  2. What "magic strings" are available (edit, summary, etc.)?
  3. How do you order everything?  Seems like the order varies between shape names and templates....  (Content_Summary__BlogPost vs. Content-BlogPost.Summary)
  4. How does Orchard determine specificity for alternates?  Their example uses hello.world-orange.cshtml but what if I also had a hello.world-blue.cshtml.  What does the color even mean?
  5. How do you determine all the different tokens that are needed to properly name a given shape?

As a new user, I feel like this is easily the murkiest part of Orchard.  Thanks for any help!

Edit: Change bullet points to integers.

Developer
Aug 8, 2012 at 6:15 PM
Edited Aug 8, 2012 at 6:15 PM
  1. Using a directory is optional, although I don't think directories work in all cases except for shapes created from the drivers (e.g. either use Parts/MyShape.cshtml or Parts.MyShape.cshtml). If you would create a shape from another place (e.g. a controller), always use the dot instead of dash (e.g. MyShape_Object should be templated as MyShape.Object.cshtml, not MyShape/Object.cshtml. However, I'm not sure if this is entirely correct. Try it :).