skywalkersoftwaredevelopment tutorial?

Topics: General
Jul 27, 2012 at 3:31 AM

Hi all, im just starting out with orchard and my teacher recommended the tutorial at:
http://skywalkersoftwaredevelopment.net/blog/writing-an-orchard-webshop-module-from-scratch-part-1

* can i use it with 1.5.1?
* I note section 8 onwards seems to have not been updated - will this affect the successfull completion using 1.5.1
* Are there any other similar tutorials out there?

Thank you for your suggestions, Kyd

Jul 27, 2012 at 6:13 AM

Hey Kyd - if you're following through from scratch [as I imagine you will be], I believe there is a mishap in section 7 where ShoppingCart and IShoppingCart are different to the source you can download. One of the methods needs to be made public [think it was Clear() from memory] and the AddRange() added etc. Also, the walkthrough version has 'productId' as a decimal when it should be an int in 'UpdateShoppingCartItemViewModel' -- If this doesn't make sense, download the source code for distinct differences. I didn't complete the tut as I was satisfied with where I was at, but you may get AntiForgery complications when logged in with the shopping cart, I believe the following will help you though:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/9029402/orchard-cms-ajax-anti-forgery-token-when-logged-in

;)

If you complete the tut, could you double check my information and pass it on to Sipke [he is a forum member, board member, Yoda double here under the name of sfmskywalker] so he can update the tut. Other than this, I don't think 1.5.1 would make any difference, don't hold me to that though...maybe the module dependencies would need to change from Orchard.Projector to Orchard.Projections?...I'd just give it a shot and see.

Good luck with your quest; Orchard takes some getting use to, but well worth it. Cheers Dyr

Jul 28, 2012 at 4:33 AM