Layouts, Widgets, UX...

Topics: Customizing Orchard, General
Jul 13, 2012 at 5:50 AM
Edited Jul 13, 2012 at 5:50 AM

I've been following the Orchard project for over a year now, watching it grow.  I really like the emphasis on flexibility and keeping the core of the product as small as possible.

I'd like to use Orchard for an upcoming project (probably won't start for another year), but I have some concerns about how much custom work I would need to invest to build the site I'm envisioning.  My background is SharePoint development, so I tend to think of concepts as they exist in SharePoint, and I'm still not very clear on how drivers, parts, shapes, zones, pages, widgets, placement.info, themes etc. all work together, so please bear with me.

My content editors will not be very technical, and I don't want content editing to fall on a single person that knows how to navigate Orchard.

1.) Is it possible for a content editor to edit a page "in-place" rather than going to a separate UI that shows each field in the content type?  That is, can the edit controls be displayed in a layout similar to the end-user view of the page, rather than each field on a separate line?

2.) Is it possible to provide different layouts for a specific content type, so content editors can choose the layout that makes sense?  Is there a way to restrict which content types and/or layouts can be used in specific areas of the site?  For instance, if I created a content type to represent a person on the executive board of the organization, I would only want items of that content type to be created under an "executive board" area of the site and nowhere else.  If I add a blog to the site (is that possible?) I would not want an item of my executive board member content type to be added in the blog.