Localizing custom content of custom content type and main menu text

Topics: Localization
May 29, 2012 at 2:18 AM
Edited May 29, 2012 at 2:41 AM

Good morning everyone,

How are you guys doing today?  I am a new Orchard developer/user that's still trying to feel around the environment and try to get better at it.  I have a quick question, how would I be able to localize custom content and localizing the text verbiage for the menu?

What I mean by custom content is when you click on the "Content" nav link on the left hand side bar, you go to the "Manage Content" screen.  You click the "Content Types" tab and click on the "Create new type" button to create a new content type.  Then use that new content type to create a new "Content Item".  How would I localize that?

And for the default main menu, how does one localize its text verbiage?  I plan to use Piotr Szmyd's "Advanced Menu" module so on that note, how does one localize the text verbiage for that?

Are there any plan's to incorporate Piotr Szmyd's "Advanced Menu" module into Orchard as one of the Core Orchard modules because having submenu items and sub sub menu items nowadays is pretty much standard and a must have on many websites?

Thank you very much for reading my questions.  I really appreciate it.  And i'm very sorry for so much questions, I'm still a newbie with Orchard and really go all in, in trying to learn and figure out Orchard.

Thank you very much for your help.

Take care and have a great day

Sam

May 29, 2012 at 7:08 AM
Edited May 29, 2012 at 7:13 AM

How we're doing things:

• We're currently working on a custom menu system that has support for multi-language (well, more like multi-culture).
    • Note: We used the 'Advanced Menu' module as our 'KB' to figure out how to do some things.
  • We use the Orchard.Localization module for basic localization of content
  • We use custom tokens that use the Orchard.Localization stuff to generate our urls (like /en/bla/1 and /nl/bla/1)