Proper (Source) Control of Media/DB file?

Topics: Customizing Orchard, General, Writing modules
Dec 3, 2011 at 1:54 PM

First, let me start off with the fact that I have very little experience with SQL Compact databases but a lot of experience with built from scratch full SQL DB solutions.

In a typical enterprise environment, I typically source control the schema, not the data itself.  Then I (ideally) have a data loading technique for the small amount of static data, configurable options etc.  For the majority of the work I've done, this data is fairly limited and doesn't impact the application look/feel that much.

With Orchard DEV, I find myself in an interesting place.  So much of the application is driven off the database and the media folder that if I want to develop a specific site and build/add modules as I see fit and I'm struggling abit on the proper process for doing this when the development is shared with 3 other remote people.

It's likely I'll have one person working on the customized theme, another 1-2 working on modules and 1-2 on content population. I suspect the modules will require database modifications/additions and the themes will need to be made to purposefully support some of the customized modules.  And of course, the site layout/content will be populated as we go. 

If it matters we are using TFS as the source control.

I realize this problem has little to do with Orchard itself and more general questions regarding proper source control and development styles for CMS based solutions but I'm still very interested in how others have tackled this with Orchard.

Dec 3, 2011 at 11:32 PM

Orchard has lots of built-in features that make it easy to work in this sort of environment. Modules have a system for Migrations, so you can define db changes at each version of the module. You can keep a live version of the site content, and use import/export to transfer that content to dev instances. Orchard is very testable to boot.

Coordinator