Where is the file (cshtml) that controls how the blogs are displayed?

Topics: Customizing Orchard, General, Writing themes
Nov 6, 2011 at 2:10 PM

Hi there,

I am just beginning customizing a theme, i based it on the Time Machine but i have my own Layout.cshtml.

Its taking form :-) Using standard HTML 5 etc ...

The problem i have now, it looks pretty good but it appears the cshtml (layout) doesn't control the layout or even what is displayed for the blog post.

Where is this file? I downloaded the source for 1.3. There are many projects.

Is the idea to open up the file (if i could find it) and edit it ? or copy it into my theme directory which i presume then it would override?

If anyone can point me in the right direction that would be great.

I think there a few files??  I presume one that displayed the blog items on the home page and the individual blog item.

I was hoping to find some document explaining this process, i checked out the docs and maybe i am just missing it :-)

Any help really appreciated

Thanks in advane

Nov 6, 2011 at 2:27 PM

I found something called List.cshtml which was in a directroy called Blog in modules..

So i created a directory called Blog under my theme's view directory and copied the file here...

then i edited it and changed something, but nothing changed...

So this is probably not the correct way.

Nov 7, 2011 at 11:11 AM

Blog posts and items are regular Content Items. They go through a special display process whereby they are constructed from a number of different parts, each of which contribute their own pieces of the display, You can create a Placement.info file in your theme's root directory to control which parts display and in what order. Then you can override individual templates to change HTML in custom ways. You can use the Shape Tracing module to discover which bits of the display come from what files.