Overriding list rendering (not the summary items)

Topics: Writing themes
Aug 19, 2011 at 11:21 AM

In a new Orchard site (Yup i'm a noob, it's my first one) I have a custom "product" content type.

On a page with a list of these types, I already changed the summary of the items, and it looks nice. But now I want to have a sub-navigation listing all the products in the list. (the subnavigation to be positioned in the same Zone as the list itsself, not in the menu or so)

What is the best way to achieve that? I thought about overriding the list rendering itsself, and add a foreach loop over the list items, but I can't seem to find out how to override the list itsself)

Thanks in advance!

Aug 22, 2011 at 2:31 PM

Did some further research on this topic and I found this: http://weblogs.asp.net/bleroy/archive/2011/05/23/orchard-list-customization-first-item-template.aspx

But I cannot seem to get it to work. For example; I tried the following as a test but is does not render my own template: "Parts.Products.Product.List.cshtml" (products is the list to which different "product" content items are added)

Would really appreciate some help here :s

Aug 22, 2011 at 6:26 PM

Did you try to use shape tracing in order to determine whether that is really the name you should be using for your template?

Aug 22, 2011 at 6:49 PM

Thanks for your response.

I tried, yes.

But I did not find a suitable name to override lists. I only found out about the alternate in this screenshot: http://awesomescreenshot.com/09dizzfa2 (Tried to use this one, but it changes the admin lists as well...)

What am I missing?

Aug 22, 2011 at 6:52 PM

The driver for your products part will have to either produce a different shape than List, or set a display type that you can use to differentiate the template.

Aug 22, 2011 at 6:56 PM

hmm okay I understand, but the Products part isn't generated in code by me. Both the "product" and the list "products" are built in the admin with some parts and fields.