Orchard and Dynamic Content with XSLT?

Topics: Customizing Orchard
Aug 1, 2011 at 9:14 PM

I'm trying to write a small site that requires lots of updates on the content so I figured it's best to build the page on the fly using XSLT.  Is it possible to incorporate that into Orchard? Can someone point me to the right place to look?  Thank you

Aug 1, 2011 at 11:04 PM

What does XSLT buy you that Razor templates don't? I mean, this is technically possible but I have a very hard time figuring out why you would do such a thing.

Aug 1, 2011 at 11:14 PM

Hi. Thank you for the reply. I'm new to ASP.NET and learning the MVC architecture. The guy who's working on the project, who I assist, has the content from marketing dept in an XML file and he formats it using XSLT to update the web content dynamically at run time, whenever marketing changes something.  He said it's quicker and easier without recoding things and we can just change out the XML file.  Is it better to use Razor templates?  If so, I would look into it.

So does that mean Orchard can change contents on the fly using Razor templates?  How do I go about looking into this in Orchard?  Thank you for the pointer.

Aug 1, 2011 at 11:19 PM

Razor templates are way easier to deal with than XSLT. Yes, you would be able to do the same stuff. This can give you a starting point: http://orchardproject.net/docs/Template-file-syntax-guide.ashx

Aug 1, 2011 at 11:22 PM

Man! I'm excited now!  I didn't know there's another way of doing it other than what was shown using XSLT.  Thanks a bunch!

Aug 1, 2011 at 11:52 PM

Actually, the reason why my project guy uses XSLT is because he calls a web service and it returns the XML content. From there, he formats it using XSLT and plops it on the aspx page where the container holds the content.  It might be a stupid question since I don't know Razor enough, but how can I transform the content from the web service with Razor?  Will the link you provided do the job?

Thank you