Some questions on Orchard's abilities

Topics: General
Jun 26, 2011 at 10:28 PM

I am evaluating Orchard CMS and I was wondering on the following:

-Can I implement web user controls onto a page, which use external controls e.g. Telerik? Would this be a widget?

-Can I define the above (additional widgets) in the VS2010 project (I open the orchard site as a website in VS2010).

-How well does Orchard work with source control?

-What is the roadmap?

-Is there a command line tool to do things like upload documents?

-Related to the above, I would like to upload documents and then have a list on the site where each can be downloaded. How hard would that be?

Apologies for all the questions, I am new to Orchard and learning the system!

Jun 27, 2011 at 10:13 PM

WebControls are for WebForms. Orchard is built on ASP.NET MVC, which does not use web controls. In Orchard, the closest thing is shapes. Widgets are yet another thing: content that can be placed in pre-defined zones (in WebForms the closest equivalent would be WebParts, but Orchard widgets are considerably simpler).

You can build anything in Orchard with VS, or with any text editor.

We all use source control (Mercurial).

We are currently finishing the roadmap for 2.0 which should be available early 2012.

We have a command line tool that is extensible.

A list of documents should be relatively easy to build, depending on what your expectations are.

Jun 29, 2011 at 9:04 PM

Thanks for the reply.

What I meant by the source control question is if there any issues with Orchard/source control (any folders to not check in? etc).

Is there any documentation on the command line tool? I want to upload documents to my site. Also, how does migration of content from local (my dev) to staging or production work?

Finally, I edited the css file for my theme, which now includes a background-image in the body, but this does not appear on the site (which is using the modified theme). What do I need to do on the page?