Help adding a route

Topics: Writing modules
Jun 5, 2011 at 8:24 AM

Okay, Granted i'm very new to MVC 3, it's not deterring me from using this as a great platform to learn from.

I'm working on Adding some functionality to a new module.. and eventually transform it into a Widget.

I have a home controller, and ofcourse I have my main ActionResult, and an additional Action Result later on in the code:

public class HomeController : Controller {
        public ActionResult Index() {
            return View("x7Chat");
        }
    }

[HttpPost]
        public ActionResult New(string user, string msg)
        {
            ChatServer.AddMessage(user, msg);
            return Json(new
            {
                d = 1
            });
(yes, i'm building an MVC Chatserver based on an example I found by Jacob Gable of Claritycon.com - Roll your own MVC3 long polling chat site)

So, the Route that I have requires me to post things to x7Chat/New, where it should be picked up by the HomeController and added to my Messaging Model, 
which is what the 'New' Action result does.
The problem I'm having, is that I can't figure out how to make it Route correctly.  Currently it looks like this:
        public IEnumerable<RouteDescriptor> GetRoutes()
        {
            return new[] {
                new RouteDescriptor {
                    Priority = 5,
                    Route = new Route(
                        "x7Chat",
                        new RouteValueDictionary {
                            {"area", "x7Chat"},
                            {"controller", "Home"},
                            {"action", "Index"}
                        },
                        new RouteValueDictionary(),
                            {"area", "x7Chat"}
                        },
                        new MvcRouteHandler())
                },
                new RouteDescriptor {
                    Priority = 5,
                    Route = new Route(