There is an unsaved comment in progress. You will lose your changes if you continue. Are you sure you want to reopen the work item?
Set as Homepage can take down your site
The current implementation can allow a user to reset the permalink for home page without knowing they have done so, and unchecking the checkbox associated with HP and a specific content item - therefore, the homepage for the site will fail -giving the
user the impression that the entire site is down.
Admin Role has permission to set HP
User Role does not have that permission
User goes to the content item HP to make an update.
User Saves the changes using the Save function
Permalink gets updated to /home
If user saves again it updates to home-2, etc.
The Set as HP checkbox becomes unchecked after the first save example and since the User Role which does not have permission to reset HP, they are unaware that then HP has been unchecked/reset
Then the HP fails...
Refactor the above manner in which HP is set for an Orchard site
a) By default, the Site Owner and Admin Role ONLY should have access to being able to set (or reset) the HP for the site
b) This setting should ONLY be accessible from the Settings section in the Admin Menu
c) There should be a dedicated page for setting HP on which there is a Content picker that allows the Supra Admin to pick the HP
d) It should have the ability to publish later
e) Audit trail view (who made the change and when)