Help - How to speed up Orchard development [builds/refresh are so slow]?

Topics: General, Troubleshooting, Writing modules
Feb 25, 2015 at 4:39 AM
Hey Guys, I'm very new to programming in general, and therefore, a complete novice [hack] when it comes to Orchard. So far I'm finding things pretty difficult with Orchard, but what hinders my learning the most, is the exceptionally long build / loading / debug times? When I can, I always run 'without debugging', but even then, there is a 30s+ delay - and I never leave shape tracing on [as that has a huge impact] and I also only rebuild modules i'm working on at the time.

So basically: how do you guys go about things [to speed things up I mean]; what have you enabled/disabled; what tricks and/or tips have I missed; etc., etc. Anything I could do to shave even a few seconds off would be enormously beneficial.

All your thoughts and opinions greatly appreciated, many thanks Liv.

BTW: I'm using VS2013.4 on a development system that has a 3.2ghz i7 with 12gb ram that runs fine in all other regards...so I cant see that being an issue; but perhaps an SSD should be on the shopping list?
Feb 25, 2015 at 9:55 AM
Edited Feb 25, 2015 at 9:57 AM
30 + seconds without debugging seems excessively long. On my computer it always runs within 5 seconds, up and running (lower specs than you described). An SSD would help, but there probably is an issue with your setup.

When debugging, I always run without debugging and then attach the debugger to the process. That's always faster then start with debugging.
Feb 26, 2015 at 9:54 AM
Edited Feb 26, 2015 at 9:55 AM
I'll throw a few ideas around, maybe they'll solve your problem or at least save you a few seconds. Effect not guaranteed :D.