Create Content Part with a ContentPartRecord and Table vs in a MIgration file with only ContentPartDefinition

Topics: Customizing Orchard
Feb 23, 2015 at 1:31 PM
If this needs to be split into multiple questions please let me know

I'm new to orchard and trying to get my head around the difference between:
  1. Creating a content part with a Content Part Record, driver, handler, and table as in
  2. Creating the part in a migration file using ContentPartDefinition and defining the fields there, as in In this case the view for the content part could be overriden with an Alternate that targets the type. I'm using creating a part as an example but a content type could be created this way as well.
I searched the forums and have read:

From what I gather a custom content part (or content type) should be created in code with a DB backing if the fields need to be queryable. But what does that mean exactly?

I'm using Orchard 1.8.1 and just created a Content Type Definition using the Admin UI. I am able to create a query using those fields for filtering and sorting using the "Queries" page in the Admin UI. Is this ability something new?

I guess the bottom line is: if a custom content type doesn't need any logic, except maybe some view logic, does it need to be created like the MapPart example with ContentPartRecord, driver, handler, DataTable, etc? It seems that MapPart could just as well have been created in a Migration file using the ContentPartDefinition syntax, or even in the Admin UI.

My company is deciding on what CMS to use for our next intranet so any response will not only be helpful but will give me an indicator of how active the community is.

Feb 23, 2015 at 2:28 PM
Edited Feb 23, 2015 at 2:29 PM
This post might help clarifying (starting from the section Anatomy of a Content Item):

In a nutshell:
  • A (custom) content part is a thing that can be attached to a content type and is represented as a database entity.