Dependency injection without writing an autofac module

Topics: Core, General, Troubleshooting, Writing modules
Dec 10, 2014 at 5:43 PM
Hello,
I’m new to Orchard and trying to understand how my own module should be composed according to Orchard rules.
I was asked to create service class that inherits from Orchard.Component and use it in controller constructor, but without writing an autofac module which registers the dependencies.

TestService.cs:
namespace MyModule.Test.Services
{
    public class TestService : Component
    {
        public string TestMethod()
        {
            return "Hello !!!";
        }
    }
} 
HomeController.cs
namespace MyModule.Test.Controllers
{
    [Themed]
    public class HomeController : Controller {
        private TestService _testService;

public HomeController(TestService testService)
        {
            _testService = testService;
        }

// GET: Home
        public ActionResult Index()
        {
            return View((object)_testService.TestMethod());
        }
    }
}
I taught it should work but got an error:

Server Error in '/' Application.

None of the constructors found with 'Orchard.Environment.AutofacUtil.DynamicProxy2.ConstructorFinderWrapper' on type 'MyModule.Test.Controllers.HomeController' can be invoked with the available services and parameters:
Cannot resolve parameter 'MyModule.Test.Services.TestService testService' of constructor 'Void .ctor(MyModule.Test.Services.TestService)'.
Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

Exception Details: Autofac.Core.DependencyResolutionException: None of the constructors found with 'Orchard.Environment.AutofacUtil.DynamicProxy2.ConstructorFinderWrapper' on type 'MyModule.Test.Controllers.HomeController' can be invoked with the available services and parameters: