How to customize a menu (newbie)

Topics: Customizing Orchard, General
Mar 12, 2014 at 1:40 PM
Hi all,

I'm just starting with Orchard, and need a bit of a boost to get started. I've watched the videos, read the docs site, and have a good feel for the concepts. I'm a software architect by profession and well versed in MVC, so Orchard makes sense conceptually.

I'd like to create a metro style menu, with content based on user-selected content items. The example of what I'd like to recreate is at http://www.checkohiofirst.com. But I'm not sure how to begin this.

Is it a theming thing? Is it its own widget? Both? Neither? With the extra text in the hover slide-ins, there's more data than a standard menu, so does that point me to any implementation choices?

Obviously, although Orchard makes sense conceptually, I haven't gotten my head around all the bits and concepts yet. Any help, be it explanation or pointers to good 'net writeups that I've missed, would be great. I'm feeling a bit foolish not being able to figure out how to implement something as innocuous as a menu in Orchard, but maybe I'll feel better having admitted it. :-)

Thanks.

-- Michael
Mar 12, 2014 at 1:54 PM
Hi,

what do you mean by "with content based on user-selected content items"? Is it the authenticated user, or the admin selecting the items for all users?

Mar 12, 2014 at 3:07 PM
Edited Mar 12, 2014 at 3:09 PM
Sorry for the confusion. The admin would be selecting the items, much like any other menu.

When I think of “user”, my brain defines that as “not programmer” although, In Orchard, one of my more pleasant surprises was that admins can do things normally requiring custom programming in other CMS products.
Mar 12, 2014 at 4:33 PM
Ok, no problem, just to be clear.