Topics: General
Feb 11, 2014 at 10:21 AM
Edited Feb 11, 2014 at 10:28 AM
Hi to everyone.
I'm new to Orchard and I'm litterally impressed by its elegance, flexibility. Even if some features are missing or its not trivial to implement or handle (es: multilanguage widgets) and to get a deep integration with existing applications is not like walking in a park, it's presumible that with a adeguate knowledge of Orchard you can get what you need.
At the moment I'll like to propose Orchard as base-platform on which to re-enginer an actual big web reservation-application but I have to fight with LifeRay as competitor.
Could you give me some conclusive reasons to choose Orchard vs LifeRay in order to convince with my boss, do you know some particularly weak points about Orchard surclass LifeRay ?

Thanks in advance.
Feb 11, 2014 at 11:52 AM
Edited Feb 11, 2014 at 11:55 AM
Conclusive reasons to choose Orchard for me include:
  • Based on ASP.NET MVC = inherent clean separation of concerns + power of the ASP.NET framework;
  • True modularity: major Orchard components are implemented as modules. Any web application can be built as a module using familiar MVC concepts;
  • Content composition: a powerful system to compose reusable parts and fields into new content types (both through the UI as well as programmatic);
  • Extensibility: almost everything (if not; everything) can be extended, including implementing custom parts, fields, queries, filters, workflow activities, and much more;
  • Ultimate theming freedom: there is no HTML design you can come up with that can't be integrated; And Razor is used as the view engine;
  • Active project: vibrant community, lots of activity on this forum, and code is committed to the repo every day;
  • Open source;
  • It is fast, especially when you consider its dynamic nature, it's pretty impressive. And there are caching features that make a site lightning fast.
  • Huge gallery of modules and themes;