Include stylesheet based on URL

Topics: Customizing Orchard, Writing themes
Dec 18, 2013 at 10:03 PM
Hello,

I'm a designer jumping back in to working with development in Orchard and have a project where I need to load a different stylesheet depending on which page/section of the site is currently being viewed. The whole site shares the same Layout.cshtml file and one main stylesheet, but if viewing the home page it also needs to load "homepage.css" or if it's the about page is needs to load "about.css".

Is there a way do do this in Orchard via if statements, or would it need to be accomplished using a Layout-url override for each section?

Thank you in advance for any help or direction!
Dec 19, 2013 at 7:02 PM
Edited Dec 19, 2013 at 7:47 PM
I can think of 2 ways to do this off the top of my head:
  1. It seems like the content you're referring to are just pages. You could simply add a CSS include at the top of the content.
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="homepage.css" media="screen" />
  1. In Layout.cshtml file, test the URL string before doing an include
if (Request.RawUrl == "/") {
    Style.Include("homepage.css")
}
else if (Request.RawUrl == "/about") {
    Style.Include("about.css")
}
too funny-codeplex is messing up my 1. and 2. step numbers
Dec 19, 2013 at 7:51 PM
Hmm, I had actually tried a slightly different approach to your second example yesterday and it wasn't detecting the URL string/applying the stylesheet. I just gave it another go using the code above with no success unfortunately!

Every section of the site is using the same Layout.cshtml file for a basic layout (header with nav, content, sidebar, footer) and I have a main.css file that I'm including at the start of the Layout.cshtml file which will be applied to every page:
@{
    Style.Include("general.css");
}
Then I tried to add the "page-specific" stylesheet using the same code as above:
@{

if (Request.RawUrl == "/") {
        Style.Include("homepage.css");
    }