The Orchard Learning Curve/Cliff

Topics: Customizing Orchard, General
Oct 28, 2013 at 7:24 PM
Edited Oct 28, 2013 at 7:25 PM
Hello,

I'm trying to learn Orchard for the second time in 18 months. I previously used it for an internal team blog, customizing a bit of CSS but giving up on anything else, especially given the time-constraints of a financial services gig. Now I have some personal time to spare and I'm trying again, I've read and read and all I have to show for it is a headache.

I'm very close to giving up again and writing my own CMS for this client. Is there any other documentation, or videos, or something that can help me?

I've been coding since I was 8, I built a code-entry system for my bedroom when I was 12, I am a pro .NET developer of 8 years, I have an IQ of 148, I write trading systems for a living in WPF and ASP.NET, I understand complex financial derivatives, I bought a Ferrari with cash when I was 26, I built my own house, my wife and children are all beautiful and I cook a perfect soufflé every time, but Orchard? That's proving impenetrably difficult.

My requirements are meagre. I only want a few different types of page and to customize the markup, add a bit of JavaScript etc. but the system, or at least the docs, have a knowledge-dependency graph that's intractable and a set of synthetic abstractions that are removed from the concepts I know dear with ASP.NET MVC.

Am I missing a page or something? Genuinely, and in spite of my sardonic tone, is there something else I can do to help myself here?

A lot of effort has gone into Orchard by a talented team of people, but I fear the project will fail if the onboarding process and educational materials aren't improved. It feels like you're following a Microsoft strategy to add more features when you should be following Apple and striving for simplicity and usability.

And I bet its actually really simple.

Sincerely,

Luke
Coordinator
Oct 28, 2013 at 7:57 PM