A bit off-topic question about embedding resources

Topics: General
Sep 10, 2013 at 2:47 PM
Hi,

I'm not that experienced yet with the whole architecture of Orchard, but it seems that Orchard is dynamically embedding code at runtime?

I actually look for a way to embed an image file from disk, into a separate .dll (as a resource) on runtime, so that I can use that image later on.

Someone knows if this is possible? I'm able to generate a .dll with help of the CodeDomProvider class, but I'm a bit stuck.

Hope someone knows a solution.

Thanks,
Daniel
Coordinator
Sep 10, 2013 at 7:22 PM
Not sure what you mean by "dynamically embedding code at runtime" but no, we're not doing anything that would resemble that. Embedding images into dlls sounds like a dreadful idea to me. Why would you want to do that? ASP.NET was doing it a long time ago, but there were a number of reasons for it, none of which applies to Orchard, as far as I can tell.
Sep 10, 2013 at 7:39 PM
Hi Bertrand,

Thanks for the reply.
Yeah, long story, another framework :(

It basically comes down to the fact that if I want to assign a thumbnail image to a 'template' (what also exists in Orchard) you need to set a property that can ONLY take a path to an embedded resource. So I thought that maybe it was possible to have some sort of UI that let's a user upload an image and then embed it inside a resource at runtime.

-Daniel-
Coordinator
Sep 10, 2013 at 7:41 PM
I'm sorry, I don't understand what you're referring to.
Developer
Sep 10, 2013 at 7:45 PM
What would be the benefit of having image as a resource in comparison to having image as a file on disk, accessible via URL, in a web application? I don't quite get it.
Developer
Sep 10, 2013 at 7:49 PM
Edited Sep 10, 2013 at 7:53 PM
plompd wrote:
So I thought that maybe it was possible to have some sort of UI that let's a user upload an image and then embed it inside a resource at runtime.