Centering menu items in Navigation zone

Topics: General
Aug 27, 2013 at 1:35 PM
Edited Aug 27, 2013 at 4:00 PM
Greatings everyone,

I'll start with the information that I'm new to Orchard. For a couple of days now I'm trying to center the bars I have on my menu but no matter what and where I change they're still positioned from the left side.

I would be very thankfull for help.
Coordinator
Aug 27, 2013 at 9:41 PM
Hi, and welcome. That sounds like entirely a CSS problem. Any CSS solution you find on Google should be easily added to your theme's stylesheet.
Aug 27, 2013 at 10:55 PM
That's the problem, I've checked so many ways and none of them worked
Coordinator
Aug 27, 2013 at 11:45 PM
What did you try and how did it not work?
Aug 28, 2013 at 6:15 AM
First I tried to center the menu buttons in the layout.cshtml. That didn't work. I then realised that it had to be somewhere in the css file. I tried to modify in the navigation part things like:
  • text-align: center
  • margin-left: auto; and margin-right: auto;
  • margin-left: auto; and margin-right: auto;
  • and a few more ways I can't even remember
    The result was: the buttons in my menu zone didn't move even a pixel.
Coordinator
Aug 28, 2013 at 7:41 AM
What selector did you use?
Aug 28, 2013 at 8:12 AM
To make it simpler, I paste here everything from my css file thats about the navigation part:
#layout-navigation 
{
    width: 960px;
    margin: auto;
    display: block;
    /*border-bottom: 1px solid #dbdbdb;*/
}

nav ul 
{
    padding: 0px;
    margin: 0px;
}

nav ul li
    {
        /*border:1px solid #dbdbdb;*/
        background-image:url('textfeld1.png');
        display:block;
        margin:0 2px -1px 0;
    }
    nav > ul li.current 
    {
        /*border-bottom: 1px solid #fff;*/
        /*background:#2E2EFE;*/

}
    nav ul li a 
    {
        padding:10px 18px;
        display:block;
        color: #FFFFFF;
        font-size: 1.5em;
        text-decoration:none;
        line-height:24px;
    }