Goodbye Orchard - parting thoughts.

Topics: Core, General
Aug 8, 2013 at 12:11 PM
I have spent two weeks evaluating a couple of CMS (Umbraco, Orchard and Mojo Portal). And I have decided against Orchard for several reasons:

As a developer and designer, I found Orchard to be very difficult to use with regards to taking control of the generated HTML. Orchard makes assumptions/decisions for the default code it wants to use, and it has a poorly documented and not very intuitive way of allowing you the control over this.

As a developer, I could manage this (and eventually did). But as a designer, I can see this limiting adoption of the product. Even Umbraco, which gives you no presentation code out of the box (unless you opt for a runway template) is better in this regard as it allows YOU to define said code (or use templates from anywhere else with ease).

I also had concerns with the lack of evangelism around the product – there doesn’t yet seem to be any real community buzz and excitement about the product. It seems that his project is still very beta in nature, and struggling to find the polish and funding it could perhaps do with.

I also had concerns that this product is really only useful for (perhaps even targeted at) rather small websites and blogs. While nimble, it is also fairly hard to see it running enterprise level websites with even moderate demands and traffic.

Orchard is interesting, and VERY well written/architected, no doubt about that. But ultimately, it is not something that a designer could readily use to build the kinds of websites that are knocking around these days – it’s too techy and poorly documented (beyond the basics) to suit this VERY important crowd of would be adopters.