Isolated development environment

Topics: Customizing Orchard, General
Jul 26, 2013 at 7:38 PM
Edited Jul 26, 2013 at 8:52 PM
I am new to an ongoing Orchard project. This project involves about 50 custom modules running along with the standard Orchard modules. The task I have been given is to create a development environment for our implementers that has as few source files as possible, but still allows them to create their own custom Orchard modules. I've spent about 2 days on this and keep running into problems. Currently, I'm getting errors from Orchard.Environment.Extensions.Compilers.DefaultExtensionCompiler complaining that it can't find the .cs file which I removed. Is there anyone with experience doing this kind of thing? Or is it just a rule that all source code must be available when compiling modules?

Thanks for any help you can provide.
Coordinator
Jul 26, 2013 at 7:55 PM
Why do they want "a development environment [...] that has as few source files as possible". That doesn't seem to make any sense. Of course if you remove source files it won't compile.
Jul 26, 2013 at 8:01 PM
They want the implementers to be able to build their own custom modules, but not modify any of the existing modules. I'm not removing the Orchard.Web source, and I'm trying to use references to DLLs and the like to get it to run. My problem seems to be with the dynamically loaded modules needing to have source code present at run time (when running in VS). As I said, I am fairly new to Orchard so I may be overlooking some standard way of doing this.
Coordinator
Jul 26, 2013 at 8:18 PM
While it is possible to build modules with the runtime distribution only, it is not recommended. The full source code is recommended for developers. In any case, you need your own source code in order to be able to build your module. What references are you talking about?
Jul 26, 2013 at 8:43 PM
Thank you for such rapid responses.