DI Autofac design question

Topics: General
Jul 8, 2013 at 4:10 AM
Edited Jul 8, 2013 at 4:14 AM
I've looked at the LoggerModule which registers two types (Castle & Log4net) but I can't figure out how it decides which implementation to use. I'm a bit of a newbie to this, so let me take a step back for a moment.

We'll have multiple implementations of our interface, IPriceProvider.
    public interface IPriceProvider : IDependency{
        decimal GetPrice();
    }
Sample implementation (one of a number):
    public class AxPriceProvider : IPriceProvider
    {
        public decimal GetPrice() {
            return 3;
        }
    }
At the moment I'm doing property injection with a factory providing the run time implementation I want to use. Instead I'd like to be able to inject this via the constructor on a driver, but I need to be able to specify the implementation I want. Ideally I'd like to be able to 'register' that implementation in Orchard/autofac somehow and have it resolve upon injection.

(the implementation is base on a non-content item field accessed via IRepository, which works fine)

How should I approach this?
Coordinator
Jul 8, 2013 at 4:38 AM
Just inject an IEnumerable<IPriceProvider> instead of a IPriceProvider (preferably via constructor injection), and pick the one you want.
Jul 8, 2013 at 6:17 AM
is it ok to use this method:

builder.Register<OnlineState>().Named<IDeviceState>("online");

then use it

var r = container.ResolveNamed<IDeviceState>("online");
Coordinator
Jul 8, 2013 at 7:55 AM
You don't need to.
Jul 9, 2013 at 2:01 AM
Is it possible to simply inject a single <IPriceProvider> which calls, say, PriceProviderFactory which returns the implementation we want?

I suspect this is already done in LoggingModule.cs somehow.
        protected override void Load(ContainerBuilder moduleBuilder) {
            // by default, use Orchard's logger that delegates to Castle's logger factory