Can't Log In

Topics: Installing Orchard, Troubleshooting
Apr 2, 2013 at 5:39 PM
I'm a newbie trying to get up and running with a new install of Orchard. I had some problems which seemed to be due to permissions issues, so I shut down the site and changed its application pool identity to NetworkService so I'd know what user to add permissions to. Then I gave the NETWORK SERVICE user read/list/write/modify permissions in Orchard's App_Data, Media, Modules, and Themes directories.

When I restarted the app pool and the site and browsed to it, the Orchard Setup screen appeared again and I re-entered my same data. (I connect to SQL Server for the site's storage.) When the home page and welcome page appeared, I was very excited, but soon found I couldn't sign in. I'm not given any error message, just taken back to the home page.

Before, when I was having permission problems, the site failed with LifetimeScope errors during the cooking process. So now I thought maybe something bad was left over in App_Data to cause problems, so I shut everything down, deleted the files in App_Data, and restarted the site.

This time after the Default recipe cooked and I still couldn't sign in, I noticed that the navigation menu contained multiple entries for Home. I looked in my database and found that the Orchard_Users_UserPartRecord table had two entries for "admin". Apparently the recipe doesn't check whether things already exist before creating them.

So I shut everything down again, deleted the content of App_Data AND deleted my entire Orchard database, then recreated it, all fresh and empty, restarted everything, and went through the cooking process again.

At this point, my database looks very good, containing only one Home page entry and only one admin user, but still I can't sign in. I click the sign-in link, enter "admin" and the correct password and click the Sign In button, then I'm taken right back to the Home screen without being signed in.

What should I try next?