Comic Module

Topics: Customizing Orchard, General, Installing Orchard
Mar 4, 2013 at 3:25 PM
Hello and good morning,

I have a site at http://www.remixcomic.com By profession I'm a web developer. I wrote the site but I would like to invest more time into getting my comics drawn than fixing my code bugs. I've downloaded Orchard CMS and I'm wondering how should I go about replicating my home page comic partial view and I also have a custom view that handles my archived comics. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated as to what's the best course of action to move my site over to Orchard.
Developer
Mar 4, 2013 at 3:33 PM
You'll probably want to define your own Content Types (e.g. Comic) and attach some Content Parts (think TitlePart, AutoroutePart, SocialPart, etc) and Content Fields such as MediaPickerField. These parts and fields generate shapes that you can skin using Razor templates. To replicate your current homepage, create a Comic content item and set it as the home page.
Mar 4, 2013 at 3:39 PM
So if I set a new comic to display on the home page will I have to remove the old comic or will I have to put in some custom logic that archives the current home page and then sets the new? I've just started reading about Orchard so some of this stuff is really new to me.
Developer
Mar 4, 2013 at 4:55 PM
You won't have to do anything else: Let's say Batman is currently set as the homepage, and now you want to set The Avengers as the homepage: All you have to do is check The Avengers to be the homepage. AutoRoute (the module responsible for setting the homepage) will automatically uncheck Batman as being the homepage.
Mar 4, 2013 at 5:14 PM
Nice! So I would be able to use projections to display my archived comics and display it as a widget (not sure if that's correct)?
Developer
Mar 4, 2013 at 5:28 PM
That's entirely correct. :)
Mar 4, 2013 at 5:34 PM