Grid layout with images

Topics: Customizing Orchard
Mar 1, 2013 at 8:52 AM
Hi all,
I am a beginner using orchard but I like it very much.
My next challenge is to create a page that has a grid layout with images, something like you can see on this page.

One of my friend said that I should go with Masonry or Isotope jquery plugins.
It would'nt be a pain for my very simple knowledge but the problem is integration with orchard.
Those are the steps I have already done:
  • i have created a content type that resemble a single item
  • i have created a query on my content types that returns the list of interesting items
Where do i go from here? Can someone drive me through completing those steps?

Thanks a lot!
Developer
Mar 2, 2013 at 10:12 AM
Next steps would be:
  • On your Query, optionally define a Layout (if you don't define a Layout, a default one will be used in the next step)
  • Add a ProjectionWidget to a zone, or create a Projection content item. Both will let you select which Query to project.
  • The default Query Layout renders the content items using an UL/LI list. To style the individual items, there are a couple of ways that you can mix and match to customize how the items look. Because each item is by default rendered using the Summary display type, you can use Placement.info to configure which shapes for the display type and content type are rendered in what (local) zone, or not render at all. You can also create a Razor view for the content type and display type (e.g. Content-MyContentType.Summary.cshtml) which lets you render the content item in any way you want.
Alternatively, if you need more control over the list structure, you could add a Layout to your Query and specify some properties from there.