Implementing a login that authenticates and redirects to another site

Topics: Core, Customizing Orchard, General, Writing modules
Jan 25, 2013 at 2:00 AM
Edited Jan 25, 2013 at 2:00 AM

I am looking to use the Orchard CMS as a front end to an underlying/existing web application. This application currently accepts user id and password on home page and authenticates to allow access to protected areas of the site. I would like to collect the user id and password on an Orchard-based page, but submit the credentials to the underlying app for authentication. If accepted, the user will be taken to the secure site, otherwise I want to display an error message and allow the user to retry or just stay in the unprotected area of the site. I am new to Orchard so I am looking to be pointed in the right direction. My goal is to ensure seamless integration with a site that is outside of Orchard, maintain a secure session with the protected site, while making it transparent to the end user that they are accessing two different sites, ie, the Orchar CMS side and the password-protected secure site. Thanks in advance for the help.

Jan 26, 2013 at 11:54 AM

You need to create your own MembershipService, from that you can do what you want. Don't forget to use OrchardSuppressDependency to suppress the default service

Jan 27, 2013 at 12:07 AM